Your browser does not support JavaScript!

Home > 首頁電機新聞圖片輪播 (英文)
Tsing Hua U Team Shares Glory of 2017 Nobel Physics Prize Winners

Source: China Times

October 4, 2017

US scientists Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Kip Thorne were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.” They played leading roles in the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), a collaborative experiment with the assistance of 1,015 scientists from 15 countries, including Chao Shiuh, a professor at the Institute of Photonics Technology at National Tsing Hua University and his four students. The three scientists released their thesis in February last year.

From left: Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne, the architects and leaders of LIGO, the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory. Molly Riley/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images 


Chao pointed out that the three scientists who won the Nobel Prize in Physics built the foundation of the LIGO project, and he was glad that Taiwan’s team could play a role in the experiment, adding that “we are bathing in the reflected glory as the three scientists from the project won the Nobel Prize.”

Prof. Chao joined LIGO Scientific Collaboration since 2010, working on the low loss laser mirror for the laser interference gravitational wave detector. They participating the research activities of the Optics Group of LSC to reduce the thermal noise of the laser mirror for the Advanced LIGO. 


Click Num  
Forward to friend
Please input CAPTCHA
Voice Play
refresh captcha